At AR Martial Arts, Adult Martial Arts is the published age-matched route for a 12-year-old because it is listed for ages 12+, while the older children's programme ends at 11. A parent should still confirm the current session, content and supervision—and ask separately about Wado Ryu—before attending.
At Andrew Rheeston’s Martial Arts Academy, the published age boundary changes at 12: the ages 8–11 programme ends at 11, while Adult Martial Arts starts at 12+. For a 12-year-old, Adult Martial Arts is therefore the age-matched route shown on the academy’s current public information.
That age label is a starting point, not a guarantee that every session or activity suits every 12-year-old. A parent should confirm the current class, ask how younger teenagers are introduced, and understand the training before attending.
Why does the programme choice change at age 12?
AR Martial Arts publishes four distinct routes: martial arts for ages 5–7, martial arts for ages 8–11, Adult Martial Arts for ages 12+, and Wado Ryu Karate. Those are academy-specific age bands, not a universal rule for every martial arts school.
Current local providers around Chelmsley Wood and Solihull use different boundaries. Some place 12-year-olds in adult sessions, while others keep them in junior or teen groups. That variation is why a parent should use AR Martial Arts’ own current programme information rather than relying on another club’s labels.
The important question is not whether a 12-year-old is “an adult”. It is which AR programme is published for that age and whether the current session is suitable for that individual beginner.
What does Adult Martial Arts include?
The academy’s public information describes Adult Martial Arts as an ages 12+ programme for all skill levels. It says the class draws on Thai boxing, Jeet Kune Do and Kali, with punches, kicks, knees, footwork and traditional weaponry.
That description does not establish what happens in every lesson. AR Martial Arts does not publish a week-by-week syllabus, the current level of contact, which training tools are used, or when a 12-year-old might be introduced to each element.
Before booking, ask:
- which current session is intended for a complete beginner aged 12;
- what a younger teenager normally does in the first few sessions;
- what partner work, contact or training equipment may be involved;
- how the instructor changes or pauses an activity when needed; and
- whether a parent can observe or discuss the class before the trial.
These are practical questions about the live programme, not reasons to assume the class is either unsuitable or automatically appropriate.
Does a 12-year-old need previous experience?
Previous martial arts experience is not listed as a requirement. The academy describes Adult Martial Arts as suitable for all skill levels, which includes a beginner starting at 12.
It would still be inaccurate to promise a particular induction process. The current website does not say whether beginners have a separate introduction, how mixed experience levels are grouped, or what pace a 12-year-old will follow. Contact the academy with the young person’s age and experience, then ask what the first session is designed to cover.
If clothing, arrival or first-session nerves are the main concern, the academy’s first martial arts class guide answers those broader preparation questions. This article has a narrower purpose: resolving the programme boundary at age 12.
Could Wado Ryu Karate be another option?
Possibly, but the published evidence does not confirm it. AR Martial Arts says its Wado Ryu Karate programme welcomes beginners and advanced practitioners, yet the current Wado page does not state a minimum age.
Do not transfer the Adult Martial Arts “12+” label to Wado Ryu. Ask the academy whether the current karate class accepts a beginner aged 12 and how that option differs in practice from Adult Martial Arts.
For someone specifically interested in Thai boxing, Jeet Kune Do and Kali, Adult Martial Arts is the clearly described route. For someone specifically interested in Wado Ryu, eligibility and the appropriate current session need confirming directly.
What should a parent check for an under-18 participant?
The NSPCC Child Protection in Sport Unit advises parents to understand a club’s safeguarding arrangements and to stay involved in their child’s sport. That is general parent guidance; it is not evidence about AR Martial Arts’ policies.
AR Martial Arts’ public pages do not currently publish a safeguarding policy, named welfare contact, supervision procedure, photography policy or process for raising a concern. This article cannot fill those gaps with assumptions. Before an under-18 starts, ask the academy for the current arrangements and how parents can get an answer if something worries them.
The UK Chief Medical Officers’ current activity guidance for ages 5–18 recommends varied activity across the week and allows flexibility in how young people build it up. It does not say that one particular martial arts class is right for every child, and it does not describe the intensity of AR Martial Arts’ sessions.
Where is the age 12+ programme held?
AR Martial Arts trains at North Solihull Sports Centre, Conway Road, Chelmsley Wood, Solihull, B37 5LA. Both the venue’s official page and Solihull Council’s leisure-centre listing confirm the venue and address.
The venue’s opening hours and general activity listings are not the AR Martial Arts timetable. The academy does not publish current class times, so confirm the right Adult Martial Arts session before travelling.
How should we use the free week?
AR Martial Arts currently offers one week of martial arts classes free. For a 12-year-old, use that week to answer the questions an age label cannot:
- Are the instructions clear to this young person?
- Do they understand what to do and how to ask for help?
- Is the pace challenging but manageable?
- Are parent questions answered directly?
- Does the young person want to return?
Read the academy’s general FAQs before booking, then ask for the missing programme-specific details. A useful trial should help your family make an informed decision; it cannot promise confidence, fitness, behaviour, school performance or any other outcome.
Frequently asked questions
Which AR Martial Arts programme is published for a 12-year-old?
AR Martial Arts currently lists its older children's programme for ages 8–11 and Adult Martial Arts for ages 12+. That makes Adult Martial Arts the published age-matched route at 12, but a parent should still contact the academy to confirm that the current session is appropriate for the individual young person.
Does a 12-year-old need previous martial arts experience?
The academy describes Adult Martial Arts as suitable for all skill levels, so previous experience is not listed as a requirement. Its public information does not explain the exact beginner induction for a 12-year-old, so ask what the first session involves and how new teenagers are introduced.
Can a 12-year-old join Wado Ryu Karate instead?
AR Martial Arts says its Wado Ryu programme welcomes beginners and advanced practitioners, but its current public page does not state a minimum age. Do not assume eligibility from the Adult Martial Arts age band; ask the academy whether the current Wado Ryu class is suitable for a 12-year-old.
What should a parent ask before the first session?
Confirm the right session, who supervises it, what contact or partner work may be involved, what clothing or equipment is needed, and how parents can raise a concern. The academy does not publish its current timetable, detailed contact policy or safeguarding arrangements, so those points need direct answers.
Where does AR Martial Arts train?
AR Martial Arts trains at North Solihull Sports Centre, Conway Road, Chelmsley Wood, Solihull, B37 5LA. The sports centre's opening hours are not the academy timetable, so confirm the current Adult Martial Arts session with the academy before travelling.
